Ann's Log

Ann

Here we go! I'm a TOTAL newbie, but read the book last week and am seriously ready to do this. I want to have more energy, sleep better, lose some weight, and just generally feel really good.

Day 1

Breakfast:

3 scrambled eggs (org/free range)

2 slices uncured bacon

1/2 avocado

12 oz low-sodium V-8

Cup of decaf tea (Egyptian Licorice, my fav!)

Plan for lunch:

Big salad with mixed greens, cucumber, tomato, and Applegate turkey slices

Dressing: Olive oil, balsamic vinegar, dijon mustard, and garlic

1/2 sweet potato with cinnamon and ghee

Snacks packed "just in case" (I suspect the first few days will be tough):

Macadamia nuts

Lara Bar

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

So far so good - I'm glad I brought my snacks though, they helped. I will eat a little more at breakfast tomorrow, and add more protein to my salad at lunch. It's now 5pm and I'm leaving the office, dinner probably around 7-ish. I'm not feeling hungry at all, so I'm feeling pretty confident that today will be a total success.

Tonight's dinner:

Salmon (baked with fresh herbs, garlic and lemon juice)

Roasted asparagus

Steamed broccoli

San Pellegrino w/slice of lime

Dessert: Walk the neighborhood with a friend :)

*gasp* I know we aren't really supposed to track calories, etc., but just finishing the first day, I was curious how it added up. I plugged my food into FitDay, and it looks like I ate 2365 calories, and 156 GRAMS OF FAT!!! That can't be good, can it?? (27 saturated, 21 polyunsaturated, 98 monounsaturated.) Good news: 49 grams of fiber, and 97 grams of protein, and according to FitDay I met the RDA on everything except calcium, iron (very low) and vitamin D. Definitely putting lots of spinach on tomorrow's menu.

1 avocado

3 eggs

2 strips bacon

12 oz V-8

Generous handful of macadamia nuts

Lara Bar

2+ C salad greens, 1 tomato, 10 slices cucumber

3 slices deli turkey

Homemade balsamic/olive oil/mustard dressing

1/2 yam (with salt + cinnamon)