Ann is Doin' It Again!

Ann

I had a successful Whole30 last summer, and have had ups and downs with eating paleo since then. I am an expert at having "good" reasons for being off track. Countless hours at the hospital/rehab center with my sick dad made shopping, planning and meal prep hard over the last 3 months. But he is home now and hopefully medically stable. And mist recently, my vegan daughter has been home from college for her winter break, and I tell you, trying to meal plan for vegan+paleo takes more creativity and effort than I am willing to put forth. She heads back to school thurs eve. I plan to get reorganized over the weekend and start fresh on Monday Jan 7. Yay!

I'm glad that despite many of my poor food/drink choices over the last couple months, I have only gained back 5 of the 20 pounds I lost during my 30 and the month following. However, my insomnia is back with a vengeance, and my low back pain and foot neuroma symptoms are as bad as they have ever been. It will be good to get back on track.

I'm also looking forward to rejoining this forum and following everyone else doing a 2013 Whole30! Happy New Year, folks :).

• Replies 101
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I guess I convinced myself last night that I needed to drink 30 days' worth of beer to prepare for my Whole30. Ouch. I'm now trying to get motivated to peel myself off the couch and head out to Whole Foods / Trader Joe's to get stocked up and ready to begin tomorrow. I'm really excited to get started :). I've started and stopped a few times since my first 30 last summer, but I have a feeling this time I'm gonna DO IT.

Day one in the books! It went well, the weakest moment (as is typical for me) was late afternoon, about 3 hrs after lunch. I snacked on dried pineapple, which isn't the best choice, but I think as I get more into the "I feel great" stage, it will be easier to resist my urge to snack mid afternoon (or I will be satisfied with more of a mini meal snack).