Friends of Bill W.?

I'm new to the Whole 30 and I am really loving it so far! I need to be careful, though - one of the ways I have stayed sober for the past 993 days (one day at a time) is by using sweets. In fact, it's a technique used by most of my friends in AA - you rarely attend a meeting without cookies, donuts, or cake alongside the requisite lousy coffee. And, there have been a few times where I've been headed to the liquor store and steered my car to the DQ instead. So sugar has, quite literally, saved my life.

I had about a week on the Whole30, started to feel squirrelly (not wanting a drink, just restless, irritable, etc.), and ate some cookies. I felt calm and centered again right away, then got back to the Whole30 again this morning and have felt great all day.

I've gained some weight since getting sober, but more importantly I worry that the way I eat is unhealthy in ways similar to the way I drank. I don't want any addiction that blocks me from the Sunlight of the Spirit!

Any other AAs out there have similar experience? Even though my obsession to drink alcohol is gone for today, I'm nervous that taking sugar out of my diet could bring it back. Thanks for reading!

Hi Wynne,

I would recommend the book Potatoes,not Prozac. People with addictions have low serotonin,beta endorphin and blood sugar problems. I would follow her recommendations for getting off sugar and not going back to the addiction. It worked for me. I also eat a lot of fat. I am actually underweight due to health issues and fat helps keep my blood sugar stable. If I feel my mood dropping I eat more yams or squash like butternut squash. Try them with cinnamon,yum! Those are treats to me now. Also getting sunshine really helps with serotonin. Also be gentle with yourself and of course take it one day at a time.

Congratulations on your 993 days!

All the best,

June