My Children Will Only Eat PB & J

Paichka

This is a rant thread, I hope you all will forgive me.

I am 31 years old.  I'm an officer in the Army, pretty much an all-around bad ass because people have to do what I say.  I don't know how to put this, but I'm kind of a big deal.

My children have not gotten the memo.

They are 2 and 4, and they WILL NOT EAT ANYTHING EXCEPT PB & J.**  I've been sneaky, I've been using almond butter or cashew butter and mashed banana or no-sugar-added jelly, but if I try to use gluten free bread the 4 year old rolls her eyes and says, "Mommy.  This is FAKE bread.  The real bread, please."  Even at 4, she understands SWYPO.

I've tried the "take a no thank you bite" route, getting them involved in helping to make dinner, the "this is what mommy made, I'm not making you PB & J" route, I've tried sending them to bed hungry.  Nothing works.  Sometimes they scream, sometimes they cry.  Sometimes they just stare at me with their implaccable blue eyes like Village of the Damned.  But they WILL NOT EAT.  At least not if mommy made it.

**That's not true, actually.  They'll eat cheeseburger happy meals from McDonalds.  I told my husband that if he buys another happy meal I'm divorcing him, but he just laughed hollowly and said he'd rather they eat crap than stay up all night screaming that they're hungry.

*sigh*

Okay, so this was somewhat tongue-in-cheek, but I needed to get it off my chest.  When they were younger, they ate everything.  My son was a hoover, my daughter was adventurous (she ate Thai Food, for cripe's sake).  We move to Louisiana, and now they're convinced the food groups are white bread and Smucker's.  I don't know what happened.  They're in day care, and I can't control what they eat there, so maybe that's part of it.

I'm sure there are threads on here that I should read and research, and I will, but please feel free to commiserate with me on getting your kids to eat healthily.