What should I eat for breakfast for Whole30?

Hello!

So I'm new to Whole30 and I've been reading a lot about recipes and meal planning. Most meals I've read about focus on lunch and dinner, not breakfast. The Well Fed cookbook will arrive in two days so I haven't had a chance to flip through it yet - don't know if it will have a section on breakfast.

I'm used to eating cereal w/ milk in the mornings since it's so quick and easy. If I start Whole30, what are some good foods to eat for breakfast? The first things that come to mind are eggs and fruit. However, I know that if I just eat eggs and fruit I'll be hungry again within 2-3 hours, easily. Should I just eat a lot more? I also read online that a lot of people eat chicken/beef/chili/etc. for breakfast. I usually think of those foods as lunch or dinner foods so that surprised me, but I'm happy to try something new.

Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!

Welcome!

First off, take a look at the Whole30 recommended meal template. For best results, design each meal to follow this template of 1-2 palms or protein, 1-3 cups of veggies and the appropriate amount of compliant fat. You want each meal to satiate you for 4-5 hours.

Fruit is optional on a Whole30, with the recommendation of 1-2 servings per day, where a serving is the size of your fist.

When eggs are your protein, the serving size is the number of eggs you can hold in your hand.

So, to use your example, one possible breakfast would be a 3 egg omelette with spinach, onions and shredded sweet potato, topped with sliced avocado.

The possibilities for breakfast (or any meal) are endless.  Instead of thinking it as breakfast, think of it as "meal 1." Many Whole30 folks have leftovers or veggie soups with a side of protein for breakfast.