Whole 30 approved mayo?

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think you would be hard pressed to find a commercial may without safflower oil and some other buggaboos. Making your own mayo takes less than 10 minutes. Less time than driving to the market, waiting in line, and driving home again.

I have looked but have not found anything available commercially that fits the Whole30 bill. I made my own yesterday. My blender gets too hot and curdled it the first time I tried. Yesterday I used the food processor instead. Success! Wonderful stuff, and super easy and super cheap!

Mine looked right in the blender, but once refrigerated, it took on the consistency of butter. It tastes like a cross between butter and bernaise sauce, but looks like melted butter when it warms up. Definitely not for tuna! I'm a pretty good cook, and can successfully make both bernaise and hollandaise, but this just didn't work.

What did I do wrong?

Mine looked right in the blender, but once refrigerated, it took on the consistency of butter. It tastes like a cross between butter and bernaise sauce, but looks like melted butter when it warms up. Definitely not for tuna! I'm a pretty good cook, and can successfully make both bernaise and hollandaise, but this just didn't work.

What did I do wrong?

Sounds to me like you didn't get a good emulsion going. Staring with room temperature ingredients help, and when adding the oil you must have the smallest stream possible. I use a 2 cup liquid Pyrex measure cup, and barely drizzle the oil.

I also add a tablespoon of Dijon mustard (instead of mustard powder) to help with emulsion.

What did I do wrong?