Learn from others (sneaky not-W30 foods)

Emily

Mods, if this isn't the best place for this, please move :)

I've done three Whole30s with wonderful results... but I am still learning! And I hate learning that during my Whole30s I've been (unintentionally) eating off-plan items in spite of my best attempts! I thought I would start a thread of the things that have tripped me up... if anything has tripped you up, add it!

Things that turned out to not be Whole30 friendly (otherwise known as "mistakes I've made")

• Chipotle cooked foods other than carnitas (I just learned on this forum that they use soybean oil!)
  • grape seed oil (we thought we had found a cheaper oil for mayo, but too high in PUFAs)
  • some herbal teas have soy lecithin (why?)
  • cane sugar in broths
  • cane sugar in regular Sunbutter (the organic one is okay, it doesn't have cane sugar)

*side note: I do find it interesting how hard it is to avoid yuck-o stuff, even when trying hard!

since i started eating whole30 (in january), i've come to just expect NOT to be able to eat any pre-prepared sauces, condiments, and so forth. even at Whole Foods, it's rare to find a label (including on organic products) that doesn't at least have cane sugar written somewhere in small print. this drives me mad, because i honestly see no good reason to put sugar in so many foods that would be lovely without it.

my advice is to always make sure to read the label, because sugar (among other things) is usually there.

as a result, my condiments, etc., are mostly various versions of EVOO or coconut oil + herbs & spices. i either do quick, thrown-together concoctions or look up a recipe in Well Fed.

• Moderators

Sugar is added to make lower quality foods taste better. I figured that out one day when I found that the only canned clams in the store without sugar were the expensive ones. All the cheap brands added sugar... to CLAMS.