Snacks, "monkey salad" & SWYPO

On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being the worst for you, how bad is "monkey salad"... i know that a lot of forum people have been very scathing but banana, macadamia butter and coconut flakes just hit the spot!!! I am on day 24 of my first whole 30 and doing okay. I would probably be regarded as being at goal weight (I have not weighed myself so I don't know) and I am ramping up my running after an injury. I started the whole 30 to crack my 15 cup a day addiction to coffee and skim milk and a pretty savage junk food tooth. I have not really had a problem with giving up any of the forbidden foods except the coffee and skim milk... and I am still learning to enjoy drinking it black... not 15 cups a day though.

Is "monkey salad" SWYPO?

Monkey Salad doesn't emulate *anything* that I'd like to eat so, no, I wouldn't consider it SWYPO. I wouldn't consider it food either though...

If you're wanting to fuel your running (& help heal your injury) you'd be better opting for whole, nutritious foods - not a faux food made up of compliant ingredients.

For me it's a 'fail'.

Sigh... yes, you are right. I suppose it is just that sometimes I really don't want to eat an egg or a piece of chicken. Is there nothing I could eat with a piece of fruit that would be regarded as a good choice after a meal...

I started the whole 30 to crack my 15 cup a day addiction to coffee and skim milk and a pretty savage junk food tooth.

Monkey Salad or Paleo Cereal is a Whole 30 SWYPO.   It is important to break the snacking cycles with an actual Whole 30 meal.

If you are truly hungry...eat something satisfying with a good amount of protein and a nice dollop of fat.  Not something teeny tiny but an actual meal.   

The best way to get a handle on snacking is to add compliant snack foods to your main meal.  Eat them there to develop positive food management, then cut snacks entirely.  This will salvage your Whole 30, too.