Day 1 = Sept 4

DVeep

Hey there folks,

I started my Whole30 on Tuesday 9/4/12, so as of today I have completed 7 days, successfully! Who else is ending Day 7??

My journey to a healthier me began 2 years ago while baking gluten-free desserts for a friend with Celiac. After noticing that I felt much less bloated without gluten in my life, I decided to give that up in May 2011. Last October, my husband and I both kissed dairy goodbye, thus making our sinuses much happier. In my search for health, heading toward a vegan diet, I stumbled upon a blog of one vegan-turned-meat-eater, which led to my introduction to the Paleo lifestyle. That made so much more sense to me, and I've been eating paleo-style since January 2012. I tried the Whole30 in February with several failed attempts. This time, with my husband on board with me, it's a lot easier to stay focused without his chips in the cupboard, or bread in the fridge, or gluten-free soda bread begging me to eat it!

I am so thankful for the Hartwigs dedication to sharing this program with us, and for my commitment to it for 30 days. My food struggle has hounded me my entire life, so at 50+ years I want/need to figure this out so I can enjoy good health in the next 50 years! My first food-offender confirmation is milk. Oh, I knew it was problematic for my gut, but didn't understand the inflammation connection. That came after switching from butter to clarified butter. After two days of not using butter, the painful swelling in my feet and joints started to subside. What a sweet relief!