Vitamins and Supplements

mmarmstrong

Hey all,

I'm relatively new to the Whole30 (Day 3) and I didn't even think to check my supplements and vitamins before starting. Can someone verify for me that they're okay? I think my Fish Oil and L-Lysine are alright, though probably not high quality. I do have concerns about my multi-vitamin though.

Finest Nutrition Fish Oil (Walgreens): Fish (anchovy, mackerel, sardine) ingredients, gelatin, glycerin, mixed natural tocopherols

Spring Valley L-Lysine: L-Lysine hydrochloride, cellulose (plant origin); <2% of silica, vegetable magnesium sterate, vegetable stearic acid

One A Day Women's Formula Complete Multivitamin: Calcium carbonate, microcrystalline cellulose, ascorbic acid, ferrous fumarate; <2% of beta-carotene, biotin, cholecalciferol, chromium chloride, croscarmellose sodium, cupric oxide, cyanocobalamin, d-calcium pantothenate, dl-alpha-tocopheryl acetate, FD&C Blue #2 Lake, Yellow #5 (tartrazine) Lake, Yellow #6 Lake, folic acid, hydroxypropyl methycellulose, magnesium oxide, manganese sulfate, niacinamide, phytonadione, polyethylene glycol, potassium iodide, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflaivin, silicon dioxide, sodium selenite, stearic acid, thiamine mononitrate, titanium dioxide (color), Vitamin A acetate, zinc oxide

My big concerns with the One A Day formula is the Manganese Sulfate and also just the sheer number of ingredients, though I know that's how they are able to be a multivitamin, by including different vitamins which each have to be chemically stabilized. Any experienced folks that can help me out?

• Moderators

The multivitamin has, at least, some sweeteners in it (see the Sneaky Sugars list), which would make it not compliant.