Paleo-Rexia? It's my mom...

theya

I am a newly minted nutritional therapist and have been treating my 66 year old mother for her hemorrhiods and digestive issues with a Paleo-style diet. We did a Whole 30 together and she lost 3 pounds (on her already thin frame) and I lost nothing. She is also experiencing drastic reduction in her symptoms. She is now so obsessive, that she refuses to ever go out to eat or to a dinner party., I took her to a salad bar for lunch and all she got was a bowl of lettuce. I explained to her that it's a salad bar, she can make her salad how ever she wants, but she refused and said "I just don't know what's in anything". She now talks about food and weight constanstly and monitors what everyone else puts in their mouth. She won't even eat at my house anymore because of what I might have "put in the food", for the record I am an amazing paleo-style cook. I am suddenly 12 years old again. I feel fat, judged and a little obsessive myself. I am a grown woman and I am acting like an insecure teenager! I have been obsessively monitoring my carbs and weighing myself daily (of course the scale is not budging). I am a Nutrtional Therapist, I know better than this!! Please help me get out of this nasty rut.

Theya, your mother's issues and your issues are separate. Yours may be feeding off your mom, but it's definitely a different thing.

First of all, if you're obsessively monitoring carbs or if you're weighing yourself daily, you have missed the point of the Whole30. You're right. You DO know better, so STOP. This isn't about losing weight or inches. It is about feeling better and having a healthy relationship with your food choices. What you're doing is not focused on health. Snap out of it. You almost certainly have not lost anything because you're stressing out about losing.