Starting 2/13/16 - My Whole30 Diary

Madison_LH

Hey guys!

I'm Madison and I'm new to the Whole30 forum but not to the program.  I successfully completed my first Whole30 in July of last year and was amazed by the results.  Since then I've gone back to my old eating habits and made several half-hearted attempts at a second Whole30, but never got past a week or so.  One major factor contributing to my success at my first attempt was my mom doing it alongside me - I've tried to go solo on all attempts since then.  That's why I'm joining the forum and hoping to use this thread to journal my experience this time.

Currently I've gained back the 8 or so pounds I lost during my original Whole30.  I've also been stress-eating extensively and just feeling all-around lousy.  I noticed during my first Whole30 that sugar seems to give me legitimate anxiety and insomnia, and yet somehow I still find excuses to load up on it anyways.  I'm feeling overwhelmed and out of control due to my sugar habit and really need a swift kick in the rear to get back on track!

A note for my first week - I currently have a full container of plain (unsweetened/unflavored) Greek yogurt in my refrigerator that I will be eating for breakfast as I don't want it to go to waste.  I understand that this doesn't follow the strictest guidelines of the Whole30, but I don't want to throw it out or to wait until I've finished it off to start.  After it's gone I won't be replacing it.

I already know that Sunday will be my first major test as I'm going to a "gal-entines" event with some friends where there is bound to be lots of chocolate.  I'm excited to use this thread as a journal to track progress and accountability!  I'm not sure how often I will post - I feel like I'd like to do once a day but that might get overwhelming.  We'll see.

Here goes nothing!