Sugar headaches

jburth7

My reintros were done a couple years ago and to be honest, at the time, I didn't notice anything with sugar except that it woke my sugar dragon. So, I mostly avoid it unless something is worth it. However, the last couple times I've had something worth it, I've noticed I get a bad headache after consuming sugar.

I started randomly wondering why this is which led me to a Google search that indicated it could be a pre-diabetic symptom. Anyone heard of this? Is it true? I really didn't think I was pre-diabetic- for reference I'm 35, normal weight, I workout regularly and I've been eating whole30 style for almost three years now.

Or is this just the medical world not really understanding that the vast majority of people should not consume the amount of sugar we regularly consume and after almost completely eliminating it we actually notice problems with even a small amount?

• Moderators

My suggestion would be to take a quick trip to your doctor to get a blood test done. Unfortunately no one here is a doctor and we couldn't say for sure if that was a concern even if we were... I've also heard that you can get roaring headaches from eating sugar if you have high blood pressure so I think the only way to really put your mind at ease would be to have a test done.

Yes, the medical world for the most part uses 'averages' and people who eat on a Whole30 style diet are certainly not in that average group, but I don't think getting a headache from eating a minimal amount of sugar once in a while is all that normal.