early lunch and after school snacks

kad70

Hello,  I'm a teacher, and my lunch is the first lunch period at school- 11am.  I eat a solid breakfast between 6am-630am which holds me well over to lunchtime.  I'm in a really good place at finding the "just right" amount of food at this point ( today is Day 8) . I'm truly not at all hungry until 11am.  (small successes!!)  Even then I'm not totally hungry.  I could probably even wait until 1130am, but my school schedule is set.  

Anyway,  with eating lunch so early in the day, I just can't make it from 11am until 6pm to eat my next meal.  I definitely need something when I get home at 4pm.  I've been eating things like an egg, a couple sausage stuffed mushrooms, half an avocado  with some olives (I know this is fat.), couple pieces of steak or a Chomp Stick. I was having a serving of fruit last week with my protein after school snack then realized that maybe I shouldn't be adding a fruit to that snack since it's really protein I'm in need of.  (I'm not having fruit with my afters chool snack anymore.) I'm most definitely NOT making a meal.  It's truly a little snack to hold me over until around 530pm or 6pm when I have a solid dinner.  I'm not hungry the rest of the evening after dinner which is absolutely blowing me away!  

Am I going in the right direction with this?  Any other suggestions, tweaks to my meal schedule, quick after school snack ideas would be great!  The other options is that I can certainly have my snack at school around 3pm after dismissal.  

Thanks in advance!
Kristy 

You're doing just fine. We don't expect your meals to keep you satiated for 7 hours (the general guidance is 4-5 hours between meals), so adding a mini-meal between your lunch and dinner, when genuinely hungry, is the way to go.

Where possible, try including a protein, carb and fat in a mini-meal.  But what you have been doing is good.

Thanks for your quick reply and the mini-meal info!!