Hi all!

My name is Molly, I'm planning on starting my first Whole30 on June 28th, since I'm currently doing a lot of traveling, and that start date should give me plenty of time to get back home (which is currently located in Vancouver, BC) and do all the prep I need. I'll be doing the Whole30 alone, since my boyfriend (who lives with me) isn't 100% on board and none of my friends in the area seems interested. I will have support from at least one of my friends, but she's vegan, so I don't feel entirely comfortable talking to her about all the (delicious) meat I'm going to be eating!

I've read both of the Hartwigs' books, and I'm psyched to start, but I also know that this is going to be a bit of a struggle for me. As a grad student, I'm used to eating whatever I can find that's convenient, cheap, or free. This usually means lots of carby snacks, crappy takeout, and department-subsidized pizza or Timbits. Since I'm doing this over the summer, I should have a lot more freedom to make my own schedule, rather than dashing back and forth from campus to go to classes or teach, but I'm still worried about my research and summer studies driving me to stress-eat, especially with the Tim Hortons right around the corner and a boyfriend whose favorite foods include crap, deep fried crap, and sugar-coated crap. Boyfriend has at least agreed to avoid alcohol with me for 30 days, which will definitely make things easier for me, since alcohol is a big part of grad school socializing and, to be totally honest, there's nothing like a pint to take the edge off a stressful meeting with a professor (a.k.a., any meeting with a professor).

I should probably also note that my area of study is meat and DAIRY in the ancient Mediterranean. There will definitely be days during my whole 30 where it will literally be my job to read about non-compliant foods.  :o