Bones for Bone Broth

Haysmith91

I'd some tips about where to buy just bones for bone broth, preferably chicken. I've done research online but I can't really find a clear answer.

Also, any advice on making bone broth? I make a whole roast chicken and then make broth from those bones, but I'm still new to the game and I struggle with technique. I know that it takes practice, but I'd appreciate any tips on the process.

I usually do chicken bones, but save up one carcass in the freezer till we have another one, then do two chickens worth.

I usually just add some veg, and peppercorns to the carcass, cover in water in the pressure cooker, heat till it starts to whistle then turn it way down so it's just keeping pressure, and then leave for 'several hours'.

I did ask at the local butcher about bones for broth/stock, and they asked what animal I wanted, and were about to go and get some from out the back, but I wasn't ready for them, was just enquiring.  I still have tubs of chicken stock in the freezer, as we don't use it quick enough.

If you want high welfare, organic, grass fed, etc, then just ask the butcher.  they should be able to source this for you.  much better than a supermarket.

not sure what you'll do if you don't have a local butcher...

• Moderators

Another question - if I use the bones from a 4 lb chicken, is that enough? Or should I save them and wait for more?

You can use just those, you will either get not as much broth (if you just cover the bones/vegetables with water), or you'll have weaker broth (if you go ahead and fill the pot with water even though there are fewer bones).

• Moderators

How much broth is too much?  I've been warming up a mug of bone broth with my breakfast and I really enjoy the flavor and the strange comforting sensation I get from it.  I never drink it more than once a day, but out of curiosity, how much is too much?