12hr Shift Meal Times

IvyGraceD

Hi All!  I'm starting my first Whole30 in January.  I am a nurse and work (3) 12hr day shifts a week.  I was wondering, for those with similar work hours, do you eat before your shift and when you come home?  Or do you consume all meals and any  snacks at work?  I typically don't eat before my shift and have breakfast and lunch at work.  However,  I am always STARVING when I get home at 8pm.  Then I  tend to overeat and go to bed within 2hrs of getting home/eating which I don't think is good!  Any suggestions or ideas would be very helpful!  Thanks!

• Moderators

Ideally, what you'll do is eat your first meal within an hour of waking up (here's why), and then eat every 4-5 hours after for at least three full meals each day, and if you need an extra meal or mini-meal in there somewhere, that is fine. Being sure you eat first thing in the morning may help you be less starving when you get home in the evening, once you get used to it.