For those who hate meal planning..../nontraditional schedule life

It's possible that MOST people hate meal planning....but I think I'm on another level. This struggle has been the bane of my existence and led to several failed whole30s! The good news is that I think I'm going to make it through this one (on day 15!). The bad news is my lifestyle and personality really struggle with having a game plan for even tomorrow. 

Im a freelance musician/aspiring opera singer. I think, to a certain extent, the artist "personality," I might call it, really gravitates towards some aspect of disorganization. All of my artist friends are this way in some way or another. We are not messy--in fact I consider myself a bit of a clean freak--and we are far from irresponsible. But for me, and I suspect others, routines/planning/detailed organization stress me out. I feel like my brain is constantly working at an alarming rate to sort through everything possibly going on in my life, and having to portion out a few meals worth sends negative vibes through me. 

My lifestyle makes things different, too. Most of my income is from private music lessons, which I commute an hour to get to. On the long days, I'll leave right after lunch and won't be home until 9:30. I may or may not get a break for food, and it may or may not be during a typical meal time hour. Today my break was at 3:30. I work other odd and end jobs so often my mornings are booked; I also work weekends and may or may not have a good time of the day free. Simply put, when I get home so late at night, the last thing I want to do is make food for the next day. In fact, I find myself having to make a super late dinner, which I guess is another problem in itself....

anyway, curious to hear some input from others who have some crazy, random lifestyles and how you deal. And those of you who just can't get on board with planning!! How can we keep on trucking through (and more effectively)??