Day 7 Exhaustion (First-timer)

Hi everyone! I'm new to Whole 30, and I'm super stoked to have made it to Day 7! But my body doesn't seem to be agreeing with my mental excitement. Here are my symptoms:

-Brain fog

-Tiredness in muscles

-General exhaustion and lethargy

This is not abnormal for me at this time of year, because I'm a college English teacher and we're in the crunch time at the end of the semester. I've been having long days all week--reading drafts of papers and meeting with students. But normally, I'm not this tired. I thought that this would pass after the first 4-5 days, but it's hanging on. So, my two questions:

1. Is this normal? If so, will it pass soon or can I do something to help it pass?

2. Has anyone else had this experience and can you offer any encouragement for a first-timer?

Thanks all!

• Administrators

Hi @dramofjade - it's very hard to give directed feedback to you on this eating plan when we don't know what you've been eating. Most of time time in the first 10 days there is some level of tired and adjustment as your body figures out what's going on. The duration usually relates to how different your eating plan was before coming to Whole30. 

A typical problem for people that are still experiencing adjustment is that they are under-eating across the board. 

If you want to list out what you've been eating including portions and timing as it relates to the meal template, water consumption, physical activity, sleep hygiene etc, we can see if anything stands out.

I was a pescatarian before I started, and I'm following the mean plan outline in the Whole 30 book. So I added meat back into my diet and took out the carbs.