When and how can I start trying to lose weight?

• Whole30 Certified Coach

4 months post partum.  Little man is breastfed exclusively (via boob and bottle).  I put on about 27-30 lbs during pregnancy and within 2 weeks of delivery ~20 were gone.  Over the next 6 weeks I got back down to within about 6 of pre-preggo weight and have been there for the last 2 months.  I was on bedrest for close to a month though due to a traumatic delivery so I suspect that the amount of fat is higher than the # suggests since I must have lost muscle.  It has only been the last 2 weeks or so that I've been able to do what I would even consider "work outs".  I've been walking pretty regular since 2 months PP but there was too much pain/weakness to do anything else.  

I spent 24 hours away from babe once and the amount he took via bottle was pretty much the same as I pumped so I'm nervous about a supply drop since I don't seem to have an oversupply.  

Is it too soon to start thinking about this?  Should I just keep rockin' the elastic waist bands and sighing at the pictures that show my pooch hanging over my old pants?  

If it isn't too soon - how should I go about trying to lean up a bit while still giving my body what it needs to feed a baby that is on track to nearly triple birthweight in 6 months... :blink:

• Moderators

Hey littleg :)

This may not be the answer you like, but you know that we're not going to suggest ways to hack the Whole30 to lose weight.  Your body has been through a traumatic event, so you need to eat good, whole foods, move as you can and not stress about the 6 pounds that are remaining on your body from having a baby... and honestly, I bet you that you do lean up but if for some reason, those 6 pounds don't ever come off, just consider them a gift that came with the baby! :)

I never asked for ways to hack the whole30... I was asking moms how they went about trying to get back to a physique that made them happy after having a baby :)