First Timer: Start Date June 19

Melanie Kemp

Hello, everyone! I'm Melanie. I just celebrated my 40th birthday a couple of days ago, I'm a writer, and I'm the mother of 2 boys, ages 8 & 4, the older of whom is autistic. My husband of almost 10 years and I will be doing this together, though I can virtually guarantee you'll never hear from him. One of my best friends is also considering joining the challenge, and I hope I'll be able to expand my support group here.

I'm here to make big changes and address a myriad of issues. I've had an unhealthy relationship with food punctuated by emotional eating, body image issues, and unhealthy food associations for as long as I can remember. I've also struggled with weight half my life. I developed Hashimoto's thyroiditis at the age of 16 and had the final piece of my thyroid gland removed in 2008 at the age of 30. I've suffered with allergies since I was around 6 years old, asthma since I was 30, and chronic joint pain since I was 19. Over the past two and a half years, I've been treated for depression, have developed anxiety, have begun exhibiting symptoms of bipolar disorder, and have become increasingly unable to cope without food. I am bloated more often than not, acid reflux is now a daily issue when it was once a rarity, my blood pressure is now too high, I am in chronic pain every single day, I have completely lost interest in intimacy, I no longer feel like myself, and my doctors can't provide any advice beyond what I've already tried a hundred times. So I'm here (with the blessing of my primary care physician, who thinks it's an excellent idea) hoping this will be an important part of my transformation.