Why is coffee whole30 approved?

AussieMum

Hi, I'm new to this whole30 eating plan, and have been primal for just over a month. What I don't understand though is why coffee is allowed. I don't drink coffee or tea, because I don't like either (cola was my caffeine fix, and I understand why that's gone), but I would have thought that the caffeine in coffee with it's associated addictive properties would make it a no go during the whole30.

This is just for interest, but why is the addiction to caffeine ok to continue with during a time when we're working on improving our relationship with food and trying to heal from the negative effects of eating the wrong things for years?

Does anyone know? Searching the forum for answers gives me too many hits on people's food logs rather than answers.

Thanks

Love the manifestos. They are so awesome and really make me think. Here's how I feel about my personal Whole 30s. While I would never add anything to it, I don't hesitate to remove something if I personally feel it's a negative for me. Nuts, nut butters and dried fruits as an example. They are allowed on Whole 30, but I don't allow them in mine. It's too easy to walk past the nuts and grab some when I really am not hungry and I am committed to not snacking. I used to abuse peanut butter, so I keep all nut butters out of my life whether on W30 or not. If you think you have a caffein addiction or it has some negative impact on you, I'd do without. I enjoy my one to two cups a day in the morning, but next Whole 30, I will give up coffee for 30 days as the manifesto suggests.

You know, when I talk to people about the whole30, and they say "I could never give up _____". Fill in the blank. When they say that, I say "then that is probably the one reason you should do this." I never really thought about my coffee that way, but when I read the manifesto, I thought "I could never give up my coffee!"

Oh boy.

Thank you for giving me something scary to think about!!