Newbie start date 6/25/2017

FrontierGail

I started my Whole30 yesterday, 6/25/2017.   I didn't find this site first--I found RealPlans.com and signed up there to create meal plans and generate shopping lists.  So now I have to explore this site too to see if joining the other one is a mistake.  

I'm 64-years-old and divorced, live alone way out in the county away from Memphis where my church is and where I shop, and I work from home.  So I'm very sedentary and don't get out as much as I should.  And since I started working from home 3 years ago (I'm a writing instructor for a distance graduate school for nurses and midwives), I've just developed terrible eating habits.  When I heard about Whole30 recently, I ordered 3 books and plunged into It Starts With Food.  So this past weekend I purged everything from my cabinets and the refrigerator that isn't Whole30 compliant.  And while I was at it, I also purged a lot of stuff out of my kitchen cabinets so I can get to cooking equipment and dishes more easily. Then I went shopping for everything to start my first week.  

I am SO EXCITED! 

I am so looking forward to feeling better--getting rid of this belly fat and just generally resetting my metabolism and regaining some energy. I feel like I have "brain fog" way more than I should.   I'm seriously committed to this and thrilled to have found Whole30.

Hi to everyone else, and here's to ME and my new self!

FrontierGail

Jump on some of the other threads out there too in case you have some questions that might already have been answered.

I turn 60 in July so we're not that far apart in age.  I have joint pain, seasonal allergies, mood swings, anxiety and stuff like that which is mitigated by removing certain foods from my diet.  I did a Whole30 back in 2013 and slept like a baby and some of these things were taken care of.  I just didn't do the reintroduction phase particularly well -- well, I didn't do it at all.

Good luck!