Not a fan of coconut.......other options?

peg27

Hello everyone! I am a newbie here on the forum and to Whole30. I have not started yet, will do so in 2 weeks after dropping my oldest off at college. Right now I doing alot of research and have purchased the book. My question (I'm sure I'll will have a ton!) is about coconut milk. I see many recipes calling for coconut milk. Recipes that I love such as Butternut Squash soup. I REALLY dislike the taste of coconut. I have never used coconut milk in anything. Does it have a strong flavor? Is there an alternative to it that would be good in those recipes calling for coconut milk? Thank you!

I'm not a fan of coconut either but have been using it because of recipes. I haven't had any yet that had an overwhelming coconuty flavor. I have discovered that scrambled eggs made with coconut milk are divine! Maybe start with something like (meaning inexpensive in case you have to throw it out) to see how your taste buds react.  

• Moderators
3 hours ago, peg27 said:

Hello everyone! I am a newbie here on the forum and to Whole30. I have not started yet, will do so in 2 weeks after dropping my oldest off at college. Right now I doing alot of research and have purchased the book. My question (I'm sure I'll will have a ton!) is about coconut milk. I see many recipes calling for coconut milk. Recipes that I love such as Butternut Squash soup. I REALLY dislike the taste of coconut. I have never used coconut milk in anything. Does it have a strong flavor? Is there an alternative to it that would be good in those recipes calling for coconut milk? Thank you!