Stupid Hard Boiled Eggs

Anham Mahna

I love hard boiled eggs, don't get me wrong, but no matter what i do, i cannot make them so the shells come off easily. What am i doing wrong?

Ive cooked them via the nomnompaleo instructions: poke holes in top, put in cold water, bring to boil, boil 1 min, let sit 4 min, put in ice water 5 min. Then i leave them in their shells and put them in the fridge.

Should i deshell them and then store them?

I believe that the age of the eggs may be a factor, but how old does an egg have to be before its shell is easily removed post boiling?

Help!

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It is so frustrating. It is the age of the eggs. I use my pastured eggs for mayo and exclusively use the organic eggs from costco for HB. Even then, the second weeks batch peels much easier than right after I buy them. I have tried everything from Julia's method to Ina and Paula's method.

Lol. I love it! A fellow cookbook junkie! I used to be a cookbook editor, so i have so many suggestions on how to cook a hb egg, its ridiculous. So you get eggs from Costco, huh? that never occurred to me, but it sounds like a great idea, given how quickly we go through them! And you don't worry that they aren't pastured? (Im ridiculous when it comes to following rules, let me tell you! Lol. I need a plan, so i can stick to it!)

Cuisinart Egg Cooker. Looks like a silly appliance, but I make 6 eggs at a time and shells peel easily every time. I think the trick is that you poke the hole in the bottom and then the appliance steams the eggs, getting the steam in there between the shell and the egg while it's cooking. That's just a guess, but the shells peel off like a breeze every time. And I buy the Costco organic eggs, among many other brands.

http://www.amazon.com/Cuisinart-CEC-7-Egg-Cooker/dp/B0000A1ZN9