Cooking Your Way Around the World for the Whole30

Emily Chiu

Hello all, I'm new to the Whole30. It's day 5 and I'm still going strong like many of you others.

Just last night, after responding to a coconut milk question, I thought, geez, coconut milk is used all over in the cuisines of Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Burma, China, India, Africa, Brazil (Bahaian region), Columbia, Jamaica, etc. A lot of people appear to have adapted it to more "generic" western uses such as a replacement for milk and cream.

I want to start this thread, simply because I think it'll be great to help others and learn of recipes from other corners of the world that would be Whole30 compliant. I am an obsessed foodie, have a plethora of cookbooks, have a chef in the family, an obsessive label reader and literally grew up in a Chinese takeout and an Asian grocery store.

For starters, I want to introduce to you all to the famous Cantonese White Cut Chicken with a Ginger-Scallion Sauce.

Here are two links to the same recipe which mirror closely what my parents (and I) make:

It's fairly easy to do as all you need to do is season the chicken whole (or use bone-in chicken breasts) and poach gently for an hour. The sauce should be made with a little sesame oil (opt) and wholely with an oil that is neutral in flavour (ie. melted ghee would work, but not coconut oil). I made it for a friend and she literally could not stop eating it. It has become a favourite of hers at home.

Cheers!

Emily

This is Day 6 of my Whole30. With family visiting for the day, I whipped up a Whole30 compliant "exotic" meal for us all: Bahian Fish Stew with Coconut Milk and Chayote Salad.