Lyn1

Hello there! I have just read "It Starts with Food" on my Nook and am planning to start the Whole30 tomorrow. (I know. I'm supposed to start imediately, but I need to go grocery shopping!)

I'm trying to read labels to see what's allowed and I have a question about coconut milk. What kind is allowed? I have the Thai Kitchen canned kind and there's guar gum in it. Is guar gum okay? Is there a brand that just has coconut in it?

I lost almost 30 pounds a few years ago on something similar to the Paleo diet. My motivation was to lose weight so that my fertility treatments would be more productive. (I had been doing fertility for 3 years with no results.) I am thrilled to say that I now have a 1-year-old daughter! I'm pretty sure it was getting rid of all those bad carbs that did it. Now, I've lapsed into my old carb-eating ways, have gained back some weight, and need to reset. I love the meal ideas in "It Starts with Food"! It just makes it seem so possible.

My biggest challenge is going to be getting rid of sweets. I love them! I'm trying to wrap my head around not even using stevia and not making cupcakes with almond flour. My inner child says, "Wah! I don't wanna give up my treats! Wah!"

My main reason for doing this is to get rid of my migraines once and for all! Has anyone else had success in this area?

• Moderators

Guar gum in coconut milk is okay. You would be hard pressed to find canned coconut milk without guar gum anyway. And only canned coconut milk is okay. The stuff that comes in cartons includes preservatives that are NOT okay.

Your inner child may pout for a few weeks, but by the end of 30 days, I bet your inner child will be very happy!