Melissa's reply: Carrageenan is a specific processed additive from algae, whereas this stuff appears to be totally different. Plus even if it was similar, we're not making a specific ruling against all algae as that would rule out vegan omega-3 supplementation. So tell her it's fine.
Based on the fact that this item is extracted from the same red seaweed as is carrageenan, I would not consume this product. Carrageenan is extremely disruptive to the gut.
Although derived from a natural source, it appears to be particularly destructive to the digestive system, triggering an immune response similar to that your body has when invaded by pathogens like Salmonella. The result: “It predictably causes inflammation...." more at Wellness Mama
I will reach out to Melissa and get a ruling on this but in the meantime if I were you I would avoid.