• Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Posts posted by ShannonM816

  1. Oat gluten is a new term to me, I haven't seen it before. This article has a little bit about what might be going on here:

    For Whole30 purposes, I would say oats are ok to use for non-gluten grain reintroductions. If you know or strongly suspect you are sensitive to gluten, you might choose to separate oats out into their own day of reintroductions to have a better idea of how they affect you.

  2. Whole30 Approved is a particular designation granted to some brands, you can read about it and see what is available here:

    But there are brands that are compatible with Whole30 that are not Whole30 Approved as well. Any almond milk that doesn't contain off-plan ingredients is fine to have during your Whole30, you can just go to your local grocery store and read labels to see which ones work and which don't. Almond Breeze is one brand that should be okay -- double check the ingredients before you buy it, it's been a while since I bought any.

  3. The only reason we would tell you to consider restarting your Whole30 would be if you ate food that isn't allowed on Whole30, not because of scheduling meals or not matching the meal template. 

    In general, try to eat your first meal within an hour of waking up (if you just keep trying to eat something in the morning you should get more used to it and start feeling hungry at that time), and then plan to eat something every 4-5 hours, so you will probably want something between lunch and dinner as you've got them scheduled here. I know you say you can't see eating at 5 or 6, but at least during the first week, if you're not home or somewhere with ready access to Whole30 food during that time, take enough food with you that you can eat if you are hungry, just in case. After a week or so if you still aren't hungry at that time, you may only want to keep a small snack on hand, but you're making some big changes so it wouldn't hurt to be prepared. 

  4. Have you seen the meal template? You can download it here: We really recommend trying to make all your meals match the template. 

    Your meals are very light on protein. Nuts and seeds count as fats for Whole30 purposes. They have some protein but aren't necessarily complete sources of protein -- they don't have all the same stuff that eggs or other protein sources do. When you do have eggs as protein, the serving size is as many whole eggs as you can hold in one hand, which is typically 3-4 for most people. I'm not really sure how the protein in peas or pea protein powder compares to the amount in eggs, but you could easily google protein in eggs and compare that to the protein in a serving of the powder.

    You're also doing smoothies and chia seed pudding, which aren’t really recommended, and which aren’t going to help with the sugar cravings either. 

    During this last week of your Whole30, really try to make as many of your meals as possible match the meal template and see if that makes a difference. That means you're probably going to eat a lot of eggs this week, since for meals where they are your protein, you'll probably be eating 3 of them. Fill up your plate with vegetables (leafy greens are great, but have others as well, and try includinga fist-sized serving of starchy vegetableseach day if you don't already), add some fat in addition to the oil you cook in. Maybe have a serving or two of fruit a day, if you want it. Drink plenty of water, salt your food. See if these changes make any difference in how you're feeling. 

  5. The one you've linked is a good how-to, it covers the rules, what to expect,  and troubleshooting some common issues people have.

    It Starts With Food gets into more the reasons behind the rules, a little more of the science behind the Whole30. It does also cover the rules for Whole30, but doesn't necessarily get as much into troubleshooting or what to expect. 

    Either book is good, but it really depends on what you're wanting to get out of it. 

  6. 4 hours ago, Patricia Daibes said:

    No, this is the original version in Portuguese. Look: 


    I'm not sure what happened here then. Maybe they have some varieties that are Whole30, or maybe their recipes have changed and used to be Whole30, but peanuts are definitely not Whole30, and the ones I saw also had rice and corn, which are not allowed either. Definitely always read ingredients for everything, no matter where you've seen a particular brand recommended. 

  7. No, anything with peanuts is not allowed. 

    Which book are these mentioned in (these are all the Whole30 books that are available: The varieties of this brand I looked at had other non-Whole30 ingredients as well, so I'm wondering if they changed, or if you unfortunately got a hold of a copycat book trying to cash in on Whole30's popularity, which unfortunately has happened before.

  8. Sometimes having a lot of nuts or stuff made from them causes bloating for some people. Raw vegetables are more likely to cause issues than cooked vegetables. Cruciferous vegetables like broccoli, cauliflower, or cabbage sometimes cause this issue. Some people find FODMAP vegetables cause these issues for them ( 

    It's really hard to say exactly what is happening. Everyone is different. 

  9. In addition to drinking plenty of water, be sure you're salting your food, too little salt can cause headaches, and if you were eating much processed food before Whole30 you may be getting much less salt than you're used to now.


  10. Pick one or two. Usually you don't really count what you cook with, because part of it can get left behind in the pan. However, if occasionally you have a meal with more than that -- maybe a salad with some avocado, and some ranch, and some nuts sounds good,  for instance -- it's  not a big deal. The template is just a guideline. If you're eating an amount that feels good and keeps you satisfied for 4-5 hours and is roughly meeting the template, you're good.

  11. Yes, cashews are fine. Double check they're not roasted in something like peanut oil or soybean oil that's not Whole30 compatible, and double check for that or sweeteners in the cashew butter.

    In general, if you Google Whole30 and whatever food you're wondering about, you'll get answers to past forum questions about it or links to the official site with references to it -- it's pretty unusual to come up with an ingredient that's never been asked about before, and sometimes this is faster than waiting for someone to answer. 

  12. This is really going to vary from person to person, and even for the same person may be different at different times, depending on activity level, stress, and hormones.

    Everyone should strive to eat a mix of different types of vegetables. That doesn't mean every meal needs every type, but over days and weeks, you should have a decent variety.

    As far as starchy vegetables, most people seem to do well with about a fist-sized serving once a day. People who are very sedentary may be okay with less. People who are very active, who are prone to depression or anxiety, or who are in the week or so leading up to their period may need more.  

    Just FYI: Spaghetti squash is not super high carb, it has about a third of the carbs in a similar amount of sweet potato, about half the carbs of a similar amount of butternut squash. It's still more than say, zucchini or cucumber, but it's not really that high.

  13. You may not be, or may not stay satisfied as long. It's just a guideline, and the real way to determine if you are making your meals the right size for you is that you should be able to go 4-5 hours between meals, meaning you're just starting to feel hungry at that point.