ShannonM816

Moderators
  • Content Count

    7945
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    161

Everything posted by ShannonM816

  1. No, the plant-based Whole30 and the original Whole30 are two separate programs and aren't meant to be combined. If you eat two types of animal-based protein (eggs and salmon), you can do the original Whole30 using those two protein sources, but not including soy or other protein options from the plant-based Whole30 that aren't allowed on the original Whole30. If you prefer not to eat that much animal protein, you could do the plant-based as it is written, the using the reintroduction plan for people willing to eat animal-based protein to reintro the salmon and eggs afterwards.
  2. The only "pasta" that is allowed on either the original or the plant-based Whole30 would be vegetables cut into pasta-like shapes. So, butternut squash cut into "noodles" using a spiralizer or mandolin. I'm not sure exactly what recipe you're talking about but if it involved pasta made from a mix of vegetables and some type of flour to form noodles, it is not compatible with Whole30. Plant-based Whole30 contains protein sources that are not allowed on the original Whole30, like soy and other legumes, because people who choose not to eat any animal-based items would not have enough protei
  3. Regardless of what the recipe says, you should aim to make your meals match the meal template (Download it here: https://whole30.com/pdf-downloads/). Everyone is different, so that serving size may have worked for the person who made the recipe, or they might serve it as part of a larger meal, who knows. But you definitely want to eat as much as you need to, no matter what their serving size says.
  4. It can be mixed in coffee or tea or soups. It's more a supplement than a stand-alone protein.
  5. This does make sense, I'll see if we can make it happen. If you have other suggestions for the plant-based part of the forum, please let us know.
  6. Glad you found an answer. Generally the best way to search is to use Google or your favorite search engine and search for Whole30 plus whatever you're looking for, or Whole30 forum plus whatever you're looking for. That will generally get you past forum discussions on the topic or official Whole30 info about it in the top few results. The in-forum search function is not very helpful.
  7. @simmiethese are fine to have during your plant-based Whole30.
  8. There's no official guidance for this, so you're mostly going to have to figure out what works best for you, and there will probably be some trial and error involved, but that's ok. If you start to feel less than great, you know it's time to go back to a strict Whole30 until you feel better, and then try again. The good news is that typically, if you pay attention and get back on track quickly, it won't take 30 days every time. Something you might consider could be doing more drawn out reintroductions. Start with one thing and have it every day for a week or two. Stop if you start to fee
  9. @steubnerthe tvp is definitely out, the rules specifically say no textured vegetable protein or soy flour. (PB Whole30 rules are here: https://whole30.com/plant-based/program-rules/.) @simmieI'm going to try to ask people who know more about this than I do, because I'm not 100% sure and I don't want to give you the wrong answer.
  10. During your food freedom -- which is what you're doing now -- you decide what works for you. Right now, if two plant-based days a week works well for you, go for it. If you were to do an official Whole30, you would choose one, rather than mixing and matching from the two. On the plant-based Whole30, all legumes are allowed, so both chickpea flour and moth beans would be fine, with the usual caveat that you can’t use the flour to re-create bread or other baked goods -- the Pancake Rule still stands in the plant-based Whole30. If you haven't yet, you can head here to check out the d
  11. This isn't really the same as vaping. You're not addicted to any of the ingredients, as someone vaping nicotine products could be. It’s not something you're doing to relax at the end of the day or in a social setting. It's more a medical thing. I definitely understand how reading more about the ingredients might make you question whether you should use it or not, but as far as Whole30 is concerned, the rules don't really apply here and whatever amount you're inhaling shouldn't be enough to affect your reintroductions.
  12. At this point, you're not really doing a Whole30, you're doing your own thing, which is great, we want you to use Whole30 as a part of figuring out what works for you, rather than just following rules forever. But it does mean that this is largely up to you. Did you have any noticeable reaction to the oats? How strictly are you doing the no gluten thing -- my understanding is that oats themselves are gluten free even when they aren't certified as such, but the non-certified ones may have some cross-contamination from being processed on equipment that is also used to process things that contain
  13. Black-eyed peas are specifically mentioned as not allowed in the rules (https://whole30.com/whole30-program-rules/), and I think purple hull peas are more closely related to them than to the peas that are allowed, so they probably aren't. Maybe save them for your legume reintroduction day.
  14. It might be. It might be that you've gone much lower in carbs than you're used to, and some people feel anxious or depressed when they do that. Be sure you're eating enough in general, but definitely try for at least one serving each day of starchy vegetables such as sweet potatoes, potatoes, root vegetables like beets, carrots, parsnips, or rutabaga, or winter squashes like butternut, acorn, or kabocha squash. Sometimes people also find that they've been using food as a coping mechanism, eating to avoid dealing with issues, and during Whole30 they can’t do that anymore. If you feel like
  15. This has been addressed before, and for Whole30 purposes, all rice is off limits: Incidentally, white potatoes are now allowed: https://whole30.com/new-whole30/.
  16. The meal template is a recommendation, not a rule. You only need to start over if you eat something that is against the rules. You could technically eat nothing but bananas and you'd have done a Whole30, although that is definitely not something we'd recommend. So if the best you can do for breakfast occasionally is a Larabar and some celery, that's fine. If this is an everyday thing, you might want to consider other options, but you don't have to.
  17. Obviously no one can guarantee exactly what results you'll see from a Whole30, but it could still help with inflammation even without taking on a full blown AIP. It could also be sort of a stepping stone, so if you do a regular Whole30 and decide it might be worth doing AIP, it may be less daunting than going from your regular diet straight to AIP. What I would recommend if you think you may need to do AIP is try to incorporate some AIP recipes into your Whole30, so that you hopefully find some AIP recipes and herbs/spices that you like or even just so you get an idea of good sources for
  18. All you need to worry about for Whole30 is the ingredient list. The "processed on shared equipment" or "may contain" warnings are mostly for people who have allergies and must avoid even small amounts of allergens.
  19. No, when you marinate some of the marinade soaks into the meat, so there's no way to remove it all.
  20. Yes. Many of these types of questions can be answered by googling Whole30 plus the ingredient in question, or by checking out the Can I Have list: https://whole30.com/the-official-can-i-have-guide-to-the-whole30/
  21. You're probably going to get more responses if you post a new topic of your own, rather than posting in someone else's personal log. I'd suggest this part of the forum: https://forum.whole30.com/forum/19-troubleshooting-your-whole30/ -- just go there and click Start New Topic. As for your issue, if you think it might be from too much citrus, the obvious answer is to cut out citrus for a few days and see what happens. If it's actually histamines, you may want to read up on histamine intolerance. There's a decent introduction here: https://www.stephgaudreau.com/what-is-histamine-intoleranc
  22. Are you drinking plenty of water? Salting your food? Eating enough?