ShannonM816

Moderators
  • Content Count

    7728
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    127

Everything posted by ShannonM816

  1. This is fine. I think the way it's written on the can with the big word zero and calories and sweeteners in smaller letters next to it, they mean zero calories, zero sweeteners. It could be a little confusing, but the ingredients are fine.
  2. If you need it, take it. If you can find it, there's Clearlax or purelax I think that's basically a Miralax powder you dissolve in liquid that doesn't have any added sugars or sweeteners or anything, but if there's some other form that you typically take that you know works for you, it's ok to take that. Magnesium comes in a few forms. I'm not sure what the post you saw was referring to, but there are magnesium pills, they may be in with vitamins or they might be with digestive meds. There’s also a powder that you dissolve in water or 9ther liquid called Natural Calm -- it comes in an ori
  3. Yes. All that matters is that all the ingredients are compatible with Whole30 rules. For some recipes you may even be able to substitute water if you have trouble finding broth that works for you, although you might then have to increase seasonings.
  4. The ingredients are all fine, so it's okay to have. If it tastes sweet and you find yourself craving it or something like that, it might be something you want to hold off on until after Whole30, but that's up to you.
  5. Drinking fruit juice or eating dried fruit on its own is allowed, but it's recommended not to. It's discussed some on the Can I Have list: https://whole30.com/the-official-can-i-have-guide-to-the-whole30/. The best way to stop craving sweets is really to limit how many sweet things you're consuming, and make sure you eat plenty of real food. You probably won't need a lot of snacks if you embrace eating enough at each meal that you stay satisfied for 4-5 hours at a time, but if you work long hours or just are hungry one day and need something more, we would recommend a mini meal with a lit
  6. I would search for recipes using coconut flour, as they don't really act the same. I think you end up needing much less coconut flour than almond flour, but I haven't done a lot with either of them so I'm not sure about the details. If there's something in particular you want to make, you might post that, someone might have a recipe they like for it, but in general if you google something like Whole30 breaded chicken coconut flour, you should get at least a few recipes to look at. Or maybe even try searching something like Whole30 with tree nut allergy and you might find bloggers posting
  7. You can use refined coconut oil. Ghee or clarified butter are also good for high heat cooking.
  8. Oat gluten is a new term to me, I haven't seen it before. This article has a little bit about what might be going on here: https://ceres.co.nz/blog/no-oats-are-not-gluten-free-heres-why/ For Whole30 purposes, I would say oats are ok to use for non-gluten grain reintroductions. If you know or strongly suspect you are sensitive to gluten, you might choose to separate oats out into their own day of reintroductions to have a better idea of how they affect you.
  9. Precook meatballs or sausage patties for the week, have them with carrot sticks, celery, bell pepper, cherry tomatoes, snap or snow peas, jicama, or whatever other vegetables you like raw, with some guacamole or ranch dressing or other dressing or dip.
  10. Whole30 Approved is a particular designation granted to some brands, you can read about it and see what is available here: https://whole30.com/whole30-approved/ But there are brands that are compatible with Whole30 that are not Whole30 Approved as well. Any almond milk that doesn't contain off-plan ingredients is fine to have during your Whole30, you can just go to your local grocery store and read labels to see which ones work and which don't. Almond Breeze is one brand that should be okay -- double check the ingredients before you buy it, it's been a while since I bought any.
  11. The only reason we would tell you to consider restarting your Whole30 would be if you ate food that isn't allowed on Whole30, not because of scheduling meals or not matching the meal template. In general, try to eat your first meal within an hour of waking up (if you just keep trying to eat something in the morning you should get more used to it and start feeling hungry at that time), and then plan to eat something every 4-5 hours, so you will probably want something between lunch and dinner as you've got them scheduled here. I know you say you can't see eating at 5 or 6, but at least du
  12. Whole30 only deals with things you actually eat or drink, it is fine to use whatever lotions, soaps, etc. that you want.
  13. Have you seen the meal template? You can download it here: https://whole30.com/pdf-downloads/. We really recommend trying to make all your meals match the template. Your meals are very light on protein. Nuts and seeds count as fats for Whole30 purposes. They have some protein but aren't necessarily complete sources of protein -- they don't have all the same stuff that eggs or other protein sources do. When you do have eggs as protein, the serving size is as many whole eggs as you can hold in one hand, which is typically 3-4 for most people. I'm not really sure how the protein in peas or
  14. This really sounds like the goal of Whole30, to figure out what works for you, rather than just following the rules strictly forever. You might look for the book Food Freedom Forever, if you want to read more about it.
  15. I'm not sure what to tell you about the tinnitus, but do be sure you're eating enough, salting your food, and drinking plenty of water, as not doing any of those could contribute to the kind of spacy tired feeling.
  16. I assume cocoa kernels are just cocoa (or cacao) nibs by another name, and those are ok to have.
  17. The one you've linked is a good how-to, it covers the rules, what to expect, and troubleshooting some common issues people have. It Starts With Food gets into more the reasons behind the rules, a little more of the science behind the Whole30. It does also cover the rules for Whole30, but doesn't necessarily get as much into troubleshooting or what to expect. Either book is good, but it really depends on what you're wanting to get out of it.
  18. You're looking for sugars and sweeteners listed as ingredients. You can ignore the nutrition info completely, just read the ingredients. Coconut aminos is sometimes a weird item to deal with, because coconut nectar can be a sweetener -- you can read about why they're okay here: https://whole30.com/chips-and-aminos/
  19. I'm not sure what happened here then. Maybe they have some varieties that are Whole30, or maybe their recipes have changed and used to be Whole30, but peanuts are definitely not Whole30, and the ones I saw also had rice and corn, which are not allowed either. Definitely always read ingredients for everything, no matter where you've seen a particular brand recommended.
  20. No, anything with peanuts is not allowed. Which book are these mentioned in (these are all the Whole30 books that are available: https://whole30.com/books/)? The varieties of this brand I looked at had other non-Whole30 ingredients as well, so I'm wondering if they changed, or if you unfortunately got a hold of a copycat book trying to cash in on Whole30's popularity, which unfortunately has happened before.
  21. Sometimes having a lot of nuts or stuff made from them causes bloating for some people. Raw vegetables are more likely to cause issues than cooked vegetables. Cruciferous vegetables like broccoli, cauliflower, or cabbage sometimes cause this issue. Some people find FODMAP vegetables cause these issues for them (https://www.thepaleomom.com/modifying-paleo-for-fodmap-intolerance/). It's really hard to say exactly what is happening. Everyone is different.