ShannonM816

Moderators
  • Content Count

    7838
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    145

Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from zari in Some notes about using the forum   
    Hello everyone and welcome to the Whole30 forums.
    We welcome everyone to join the forum and have discussions about Whole30 -- just please be sure you follow the rules. 
    If you're not sure you want to make an account, feel free to browse as much as you want while you decide, but please know that if you want to post on the forum, you do need to make an account. You will also need an account to report posts that you feel don't meet the forum rules as well as to send private messages to members and mods.  Signing up is free and easy to do; you don't even have to tell us your real name if you don't want to, just make sure whatever name you choose complies with the forum rules linked above.
     
     
  2. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from Angela Rogers in Thrive Market - Compatible vs. Approved   
    It's fine. The negligible amounts of sugar are from lemon juice concentrate and from coconut amino, and those are both fine to have.
  3. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from Anberel in Some of the recipes on this site don’t make sense   
    The only "pasta" that is allowed on either the original or the plant-based Whole30 would be vegetables cut into pasta-like shapes. So, butternut squash cut into "noodles" using a spiralizer or mandolin. I'm not sure exactly what recipe you're talking about but if it involved pasta made from a mix of vegetables and some type of flour to form noodles, it is not compatible with Whole30. 
    Plant-based Whole30 contains protein sources that are not allowed on the original Whole30, like soy and other legumes, because people who choose not to eat any animal-based items would not have enough protein options without those options. The original Whole30 still exists, and if you eat animal-based protein you can still do the original version. The plant-based Whole30 is a completely different program.
    The Abbot's Butcher products that are allowed on the plant-based Whole30 meet the rules like no carrageenan and no gluten. Many of the meat substitute options available from other brands -- and even one of this brand's products -- do not meet these standards. These products give plant-based Whole30ers another option for a protein source. No one has to use them, even while doing a plant-based Whole30, it is just another option to make meal prep and planning a little easier. 
  4. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from Angela Rogers in Thrive Market - Compatible vs. Approved   
    I can't speak for Thrive Market, I'm not sure why they'd list something as Whole30 compatible that has any sweetener in it. If you remember the particular product that had maple syrup listed as an ingredient in the Whole30 compatible list, could you let us know? I can pass that along to HQ so they can look into it.
    The Primal Kitchen Ranch with Avocado Oil is fine to have. If you look, the ingredient that is asterisked as adding a negligible amount of sugar is lemon juice concentrate, and that would be the naturally occurring sugar in lemons/lemon juice. I'm not sure why they needed to put that note there, but it's not the same as actually adding sugar to the product.
    From a Whole30 perspective, there is a class of products that are Whole30 Approved, which means there's an official relationship between Whole30 and that brand, and not only are their Whole30 Approved products compatible with the program, there are other standards like if they contain animal products the brand meets certain animal welfare standards. You can read about the Whole30 Approved program here: https://whole30.com/whole30-approved/.
    So anything that is Whole30 Approved is also compatible, but there are plenty of foods that are compatible with Whole30 that don't meet the Whole30 Approved standards, but they're absolutely fine to have. Whole30 Approved does mean it is Approved and good to go (but do double check each product, some brands have products that are approved and others that aren't).
  5. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from simmie in Miyokos Cashew Cream Mozzarella containing tapioca starch?   
    Yes, nut-based cheeses with compatible ingredients are allowed.
    This article is specifically about Kite Hill brand products but goes over the reasoning about allowing them: https://whole30.com/kite-hill-is-whole30approved/.
  6. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from stacyjewelry in Help formulating my reintroduction plan   
    Yes, have the food at each meal one day, then go back to Whole30 for at least two days. If you were to have a reaction that takes more than two days to recover from, don't reintroduce the next thing until you are feeling good again.
    Once you've reintroduced a food, you don't have it again until you're completely done 2with reintroductions, so even if beans go well, you wouldn't have been and rice together when you reintro rice.
    As for doing several non-gluten grains or just one, that's kind of up to you. You can do non-gluten grains generally, and have maybe oatmeal, rice, and corn at your meals, or if you're curious about how corn in particular affects you, you could do a separate day for just corn. If you did just corn, then you'd still do a separate day for other non-gluten grains. 
  7. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from kelleyj68 in Coconut flour alternatives   
    The exchange isn't 1:1 in some recipes because coconut flour is more absorbent than almond flour, so it can definitely affect the amount of liquid you'd need to use. In other recipes, for instance if you're just breading a piece of chicken or fish before cooking it, it may not make much difference. If there's a particular thing you want to make, I'd suggest looking for a version of the recipe that uses almond flour rather than coconut flour. Try googling the recipe plus the words almond flour, so for instance, chicken tenders almond flour. Enough people can't do coconut or don't like coconut that there's bound to be options out there.
    You can totally do a whole30 without using any alternative flours if you want to as well. They add some variety to ways to prepare some foods, but they really aren't necessary. 
  8. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from Rnady2 in Can I still drink my DandyBlend Drink?   
    The barley and rye are both grains and aren't allowed for Whole30. There are other brands of dandelion tea, you can probably find one that is only dandelion root, and that would be fine to have. 
  9. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from Jo Newton in Mistake with smoked salmon...   
    This is the official guidance on whether or not to start over: https://whole30.com/start-over/
     
  10. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from simmie in Some of the recipes on this site don’t make sense   
    The only "pasta" that is allowed on either the original or the plant-based Whole30 would be vegetables cut into pasta-like shapes. So, butternut squash cut into "noodles" using a spiralizer or mandolin. I'm not sure exactly what recipe you're talking about but if it involved pasta made from a mix of vegetables and some type of flour to form noodles, it is not compatible with Whole30. 
    Plant-based Whole30 contains protein sources that are not allowed on the original Whole30, like soy and other legumes, because people who choose not to eat any animal-based items would not have enough protein options without those options. The original Whole30 still exists, and if you eat animal-based protein you can still do the original version. The plant-based Whole30 is a completely different program.
    The Abbot's Butcher products that are allowed on the plant-based Whole30 meet the rules like no carrageenan and no gluten. Many of the meat substitute options available from other brands -- and even one of this brand's products -- do not meet these standards. These products give plant-based Whole30ers another option for a protein source. No one has to use them, even while doing a plant-based Whole30, it is just another option to make meal prep and planning a little easier. 
  11. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from simmie in Intro   
    You should get the replay, I'm told probably by Wednesday. So watch whatever email you used to sign up, and if you don't get it by the end of the week, let us know and we'll see what we can do. 
  12. Like
    ShannonM816 reacted to ladyshanny in To the moderators- can PB get their own recipe board?   
    This is done as per request, you can see it here: Plant Based Recipes - Whole30
    Thanks for the great idea!
  13. Thanks
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from han92 in Fractionated Coconut Oil   
    Yes, it's fine.
  14. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from han92 in Question about Organic Açaí Powder’s Label   
    All you need to worry about for Whole30 is the ingredient list. The "processed on shared equipment" or "may contain" warnings are mostly for people who have allergies and must avoid even small amounts of allergens. 
  15. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from ladyshanny in Feeling angry and depressed   
    It might be. It might be that you've gone much lower in carbs than you're used to, and some people feel anxious or depressed when they do that. Be sure you're eating enough in general, but definitely try for at least one serving each day of starchy vegetables such as sweet potatoes, potatoes, root vegetables like beets, carrots, parsnips, or rutabaga, or winter squashes like butternut, acorn, or kabocha squash.
    Sometimes people also find that they've been using food as a coping mechanism, eating to avoid dealing with issues, and during Whole30 they can’t do that anymore. If you feel like that might be part of this, try talking to a counselor or close friend, or Journaling about your feelings.
  16. Thanks
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from lauranarvett in Feeling angry and depressed   
    It might be. It might be that you've gone much lower in carbs than you're used to, and some people feel anxious or depressed when they do that. Be sure you're eating enough in general, but definitely try for at least one serving each day of starchy vegetables such as sweet potatoes, potatoes, root vegetables like beets, carrots, parsnips, or rutabaga, or winter squashes like butternut, acorn, or kabocha squash.
    Sometimes people also find that they've been using food as a coping mechanism, eating to avoid dealing with issues, and during Whole30 they can’t do that anymore. If you feel like that might be part of this, try talking to a counselor or close friend, or Journaling about your feelings.
  17. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from mandyl in Doctor bought up Autoimmune   
    Obviously no one can guarantee exactly what results you'll see from a Whole30, but it could still help with inflammation even without taking on a full blown AIP. It could also be sort of a stepping stone, so if you do a regular Whole30 and decide it might be worth doing AIP, it may be less daunting than going from your regular diet straight to AIP. 
    What I would recommend if you think you may need to do AIP is try to incorporate some AIP recipes into your Whole30, so that you hopefully find some AIP recipes and herbs/spices that you like or even just so you get an idea of good sources for AIP recipes, so if you do AIP in the future it's not so overwhelming. 
  18. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from SchrodingersCat in Like a (broken) record, baby, round, round, round, (not on) round...   
    You're probably going to get more responses if you post a new topic of your own, rather than posting in someone else's personal log. I'd  suggest this part of the forum: https://forum.whole30.com/forum/19-troubleshooting-your-whole30/ -- just go there and click Start New Topic.
    As for your issue, if you think it might be from too much citrus, the obvious answer is to cut out citrus for a few days and see what happens. If it's actually histamines, you may want to read up on histamine intolerance. There's a decent introduction here: https://www.stephgaudreau.com/what-is-histamine-intolerance/ 
    Skin issues are one thing that seem to get worse before they get better for some people, and they can take a while to clear up, so another option is to just keep doing what you're doing and see if things do improve over time. 
  19. Thanks
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from Krissm in Meat Items   
    Read the ingredients lists. That's how you know if something is Whole30 compatible, from the ingredients. 
    The first one contains sugar. Sugar is not compatible with Whole30 rules, so that one isn't going to work for your Whole30.  The other one seems to be okay, the ingredients are all fine. So you can have it during your Whole30. 
  20. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from Mamatutu in Autoimmune inflammation   
    It's helpful to stop thinking you need some special "breakfast food" in the morning. Any food that works for any other meal can work for breakfast too. Soup is nice if it's cold where you are. I like a butternut squash soup, and then I'll have whatever leftover meat I have as protein, either on the side or shredded and mixed in the soup. Or have a baked sweet potato topped with some homemade breakfast sausage -- look for AIP whole30 sausage recipes to avoid the usual pepper flakes and cayenne in most sausage. For more non-traditional breakfast ideas (not all will meet your ingredient requirements, but maybe you'll get some ideas), check out this discussion.
    In general, looking for AIP Whole30 recipes should help you avoid those ingredients. Be sure you check your spice blends too, they may have chili or cayenne powders.
  21. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from CourtLiv in David’s tea confusion   
    I'm not certain what cream flavoring is, but this looks like their Cream of Earl Grey, and according to the website that's vegan (as denoted by the v in a circle symbol, explained here: https://www.davidstea.com/us_en/explore/about/about-us/). That would mean it isn't actually cream or dairy of any kind.
    Based on this, I think it's ok, but you could message them and double check that the tea is vegan and doesn't contain any dairy. They may or may not actually say what the cream flavoring is, they may say it's proprietary, but you could ask.
  22. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from alyrising in What non dairy milk is acceptable   
    Any of them that are made from Whole30 compatible ingredients. Cashew or macadamia milk or hemp milk would work, just check the ingredients for things like sweeteners or soy.
    Obviously, things like oat milk or rice milk or soy milk would not be ok because they're made from things that are not Whole30 compatible. 
  23. Thanks
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from Karishma in Pasta sauce   
    This is fine. Vegetables and fruits have naturally occurring sugars which will be reflected in the nutrition information, but for Whole30 purposes what matters is whether there's sugar or sweeteners listed as ingredients. 
  24. Thanks
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from Aina Ransom in Accidentally Ate Something Off-Plan   
    This article explains more about starting over. There are no Whole30 police who are going to come make you start over, it's ultimately up to you. If you aren't sure, you can always keep going, and on day 30 think about it again and decide if you want to keep going or not.
  25. Like
    ShannonM816 got a reaction from SchrodingersCat in Are these compliant?   
    Those are fine.
    You can find downloadable pdfs of the rules and more information here: https://whole30.com/pdf-downloads/. You can also google ingredients you're not sure about along with Whole30 and will usually find previous discussions of those ingredients in the first few results. Sometimes these options are faster than waiting for an answer on the forum, although you're definitely always welcome to ask here.