A confused noobie

MattLaBorde

HI! My name is Matt. I'm a 21 year old college student from New Orleans.

I'll be honest up front: I've never eaten healthy. I'm 170 pounds and I've played rugby for my whole life and I continue to play for my college. I don't quite understand Paleo and when I look at the Whole9 shopping list I get really confused. I'm doing this to change my eating habits, and to hopefully one day encourage my unhealthy parents to do the same.

I plan to start memorial day weekend with a friend who has tried the Whole30 before. BUT, I have some questions.

Are there more detailed shopping guides out there for beginners? I don't understand what products to buy and how to make these recipes come alive. Every recipe I see has a ton of different things. How do I develop a shopping guide (For a COMPLETE beginner) that will help me cover the most ground?

I have very little cooking experience. Is whole 30 right for me? (I will be living by myself this summer so I'll have a kitchen to myself).

I feel extremely helpless, as you can tell. I desperately want to complete this program because I have read so many amazing testimonies that have inspired me. But, I feel like it is all over my head. I have the Whole 30 E book and I have read through it, and I still feel really confused.

Any help would mean the world.

Matt

I just really started cooking within the last 6 months or so. I don't know what your financial situation is like, but there are a lot of good cookbooks out there. If you're looking for simple, I'd put "Well Fed" by Melissa Joulwan at the top of that list (we still make at least one "hot plate" per week out of that book)

http://www.amazon.com/Well-Fed-Paleo-Recipes-People/dp/061557226X

I also really like the Everday Paleo Family Cookbook by Sarah Fragoso. If it's just you, the good news is that you can make recipes that serve 4, and eat the leftovers for days. :-)