Homemade mayo

ChildoftheKing7777

Ain't no thang. If it'll make you feel better, I'll post a YouTube video of me eating a raw egg or 3...

Yes. It would be a fat (mostly olive oil) and I wouldn't be super scientific about it. Make a tuna salad with a reasonable amount of it and you'll be fine. If it's 3 parts mayo to 1 part tuna, you might have a problem. :-)

• Moderators

It did not occur to me to worry about the egg being raw in my mayo recipe until after I had eaten one or two batches of it. I then worried for a few days until I decided I had better things to worry about. I might have rationalized that I got my eggs from a farm with healthy, happy chickens just a few miles from my house or that the apple cider vinegar I add kills any bacteria the raw egg might contain. People have been making mayonnaise with raw eggs for centuries and not becoming sick from it. I've been making mayonnaise with raw eggs for about 3 years now and cannot imagine ever buying mayonnaise in a store again.

For what it's worth, I got really sick during my first W30. I had to get the doctor out who diagnosed a delightful case of enteritis. I asked him if he thought the raw eggs I'd started eating in home made mayo could be responsible. He said he wouldn't blame them and saw no problems with eating them that way - and that's your standard British GP, he's not the least bit paleo or alternative in any way. so I carried on making and eating mayo and I've had no problems with it at all.

Rock mom, it could be a bunch of things:

Were your ingredients all the same temperature?

Did you drizzle your oil REALLY slowly?

Did you mix up your yolk and acid (or mustard) first before adding oil?

If the answer's yes to all of those, then it's the last (and most common) reason: bad juju.