What if sourcing good meat is an issue?

I'm starting my first W30 on June 4th. I'm a student who will be living on campus over the summer -- I'll have my own kitchen, which will make this more manageable. However, I am a student with not a ton to spend on food. Also without a car, my closest food options are Hannaford and a farmer's market (not sure on the quality there). If I can borrow a car I could get to Target and Wal Mart.

Given my financial situation and these options, I'm not sure how feasible it will be to actually get good meat. I think I'm going to make good tuna and good eggs my priorities (because those seem to be the least costly), but I doubt I will be able to afford good chicken and turkey. If I just get standard poultry from Hannaford, am I defeating the purpose of a W30? Will my results drastically change?

Also I'd love to hear about your experiences with meat shopping at Hannaford, Target, and Wal Mart. Any suggestions?

I cannot afford organic meat, so I try to do the best we can. We buy pastured eggs from a farm for $3/dozen. I shop the farmers market for produce and just signed up for a CSA co-op.

For your meats, buy the leanest cuts available, and trim or drain all visible fat before eating. For chicken - make sure you eat it without the skin, as all the unhealthy things live in the fat/skin.

I buy conventional boneless and skinless chicken breasts and thighs.. However, seeing as you are on a tight budget.. buy the skin and bone in, just remove before cooking. I would prefer pastured chicken, but damn it's way too expensive so I made a compromise. Once every two weeks I buy a whole pastured chicken and roast it, pluck off the meat for salads or whatever and the bones go into the freezer to make stock at a later date.