My first Whole30 ... major changes ... I am a rock ...

updog

Hi. I have used these forums as a resource over the past few months but have yet to post. I completed a Whole30 on June 18 and am on day 12 of my second round.

When I started my first Whole30, I had been eating a mostly primal diet for a few months, so it wasn't a huge shock to my system to go balls-out. I continued to eat plenty of fruits and starchy vegetables because I was training for a fun endurance athletic event and needed all that stuff to keep moving. Also, I'm a bike commuter and usually ride at least 60 miles a week through some very hilly terrain down here in Southern Indiana, so sweet potatoes and bananas and coconut water are my friends.

But you want to hear about my results, right?

• I lost 6 pounds and a few inches. I can see more visible muscle definition all over my body, which is fantastic.
  • My skin and hair look great.
  • Clarity of mind. I feel remarkable. My house is cleaner and more organized, my reading comprehension and memory have improved, and I get out of bed in the morning feeling great and ready to get stuff done efficiently. I have a steady supply of energy throughout the day rather than the fluctuating energy levels I had become used to.
  • Better focus. I mean this literally. I have been wearing glasses to correct an astigmitism, but since I started eating a fully paleo diet, I haven't needed them. I'm sure there are a lot of contributing factors: I've been working to strengthen ALL my muscles, not just the ones you see, but if eating this way gives me the motivation and discipline that I need to actively engage in all matter of self-improvement exercises, then I must give credit where credit is due.