Admitting defeat.... And starting fresh! Whole30 attempt 2 here we go!

klericksen

I FAILED... like BIG TIME failed. I made it to day 27, got on the scale, and had a melt down. Here's my story:

I was a gymnast through college then a crossfitter. I am lean, but am broader than your average girl. But, I've always yearned for "skinny girl arms." I am tired of my "guns." And I have never wanted skinny girl arms more so than on my wedding day... which is in 33 days. This year I'm an intern = not much time to workout, eating whatever is in the break room, etc. I live by myself so I haven't been healthy. BUT, I lost almost 10 pounds without trying! And yes, I'm aware I was losing muscle, but I was okay with that in anticipation of my wedding day. I was 100% happy with being slightly more feminine and less buff.

And then I tried the whole30 - in an attempt to lean out a bit more in my last two months. At the same time, I started working out more... lifting weights. So you can imagine my disappointment when I got on the scale at day 27 and was pissed that I was gaining weight! I know it's healthy weight, and I know I felt and looked better. But in my delusional mind I was unable to separate the numbers from how I looked. I want to be the 123lbs that I was at my lightest... when I was eating chinese food and not working out.

So, here I am. I splurged this weekend. I feel like crap and my face broke out. New game plan: whole 30 plus running and pilates. No weights. I'll get back to CF next year, but for the next 30 days I want to get SMALLER!!!!! My one caveat - I like my "protein shakes" that I make with coconut milk yogurt, blackberries, blueberries, and unsweetened coconut milk. It's basically a meal for me. And... I ordered whole30 approved bacon the first time around but I can't do that this time. So, my two "cheats" are my coconut milk yogurt in my shakes and my bacon (still a healthy variety from whole foods).