Angela's Whole 30 -- This Time Is For Real!

Angela N

Hi all,

I'm Angela, I'm a 30yo, 5'7", 150lb female. I've been struggling (and, recently, recovering) from adrenal fatigue for the past 2 or 3 years. I've been doing my best to be paleo/primal since late 2009 but due to the total lack of energy from adrenal fatigue, over the past couple years, that's been downgraded to just plain gluten-free. This spring, for the first time in ages, I now have enough energy to go to work, come home, exercise my high-energy young dog, cook a meal, and probably even clean up after said cooking! To say this is a big deal is an understatement.

Unfortunately, over the past 2.5 years, I've put on 20 or 25 pounds (I don't weigh myself regularly, so I have no idea what I weighed when I was diagnosed with AF). At 150lbs, all I know is that NONE of my work clothes fit, and I won't be caught dead in a bikini until something changes.

I've tried to do a Whole 30 before--numerous times. Last summer, I made it to day 7 before I overdid it and failed to factor in how much energy I needed to reserve to make myself food--and ended up eating out, which I thought was off-roading, and so gave up.

I am starting today, with lunch, as I finished off the last of the cream in my coffee this morning. I am completely giving up coffee for the next 30 days because, even though I only drink 1/2 of a cup of real coffee per day (and another cup of swiss water decaf), I think I am far too attached to it. I know it doesn't help the adrenal issues, so why keep it?

The biggest challenges for me over the next 30 days are probably going to be:

1) Coffee!!!

2) Alcohol. It's summer, a good friend (who loves to go out) just moved to town, and I loooooooove my wine and cider.

3) Dairy. Mmmm cheese.

4) Planning... I suck at meal planning. I really, really do.

Why am I doing a Whole 30?