Whitershade's reintroduction

So, here I will write about my reintroduction and my physical reactions:

-day 31 I ate totally compliant except for two glasses of white wine, and I also had some mashed banana with cinnamon and cashew butter that sounded like a dessert.

No bad reactions to wine.

-day 32 here is the issue: I have at home some foods I bought before the whole 30 that contain sugar. I haven't touched them during last month, but since I don't feel like throwing away food, I am going to eat them. I'm talking about sugar used as a preservative, here, not as a sweetener. So, this morning I had almond milk (sugar as a preservative, not sweet taste)with hemp seeds, coconut flakes, some flaxmeal, and a small banana.

I haven't had anything else because I was in a rush..

So, I was wondering how sugar, simply that contained in lox, or ham, or even my almond milk (that for the rest, is "organic") can affect my body. I wanted to add that I've never used sugar at all, also before whole30, except for baking and except in those case when it is needed as preservative or for cooking.

Moreover, I tasted a hard candy yesterday and I had to spit it out, because I find the sweetness DISGUSTING now!

Any advice?

• Moderators

Some people get bloated or feel a bit anxious when they eat sugar, but heartburn is not a symptom I have heard. However, I am not a sugar symptom expert.

When we stop eating sugar for a period of time, our taste buds become more sensitive to sugar so that candies and many processed foods taste too sweet. They taste too sweet because they are, they are not normal.

Sugar is added to many foods to make them taste better. The most amazing thing to me was finding sugar as an ingredient in canned clams. The cheap clams in the store included sugar, while the more expensive clams did not. I think that means the cheaper clams were of lower quality and the sugar was used to "improve" their taste.