second timer doing a whole30...need some support

holistic_change

Hi all - this is my second whole30 in the past 6 months. I felt great during my first one, and I'm looking to get the same feeling during the second one. It was difficult to keep up the same habits I learned, especially when traveling and on weekends. I guess some habits are hard to break. I am a very busy grad student, so I want to start planning better and troubleshooting in social situations (like going out to dinner or having to go to a party, or simply having to meet a deadline and not having time to cook). Even though I haven't weighed myself, I know for a fact I have put on some weight. I also have anxiety and depression, and even though both are managed with medications, sometimes that is not enough--having gained weight also doesn't help in this department. In the past couple of months I've been able to eat clean during the week, but come Friday nights all the way through Sunday and all I want is to indulge not to mention have a glass or two of wine with my boyfriend.  If you have any advice on how to handle these "triggers," I'd greatly appreciate it!

Hi holistic_change. My heart goes out to you girl. I have some major sugar cravings - mostly in the form of chocolate - that I've been really struggling to overcome. There is this book that has been really helping me. It's called "The Paleo Coach" by Jason Seib (http://www.amazon.com/dp/1936608472). One of the first sections is called "Think" and it has really been helping me out. He challenges you to stop and think before drinking a glass of wine (in your case) or eating a family size bag of m&m's (my struggle), and to weigh your options. Is the momentary taste of this food/drink really worth sabotaging my health goals. There is so much more in the book too...and it's pretty concise which I like because like you I am super busy. I think it would really help you overcome your triggers. I've read it multiple times now so it will fully sink in!