Post Whole 30 food paralysis...?

JulieSusan

Hi everyone,

I finished my whole 30 ten days ago, and soooo I am on Day 40! My thoughts are - I have no desire to reintroduce dairy or grains or sugar, etc. I am really happy eating this way. I have no cravings, lots of energy and am really happy.

Should I go through the reintroduction process anyway??? Can I do this way of eating indefinitely (yes I bet). Can I just have the occasional non-whole food occasionally and be fine?

Anyone else have this thought/issue?

Thank you!! Julie

If you have no desire to reintroduce, then don't do it.  As I see it (and I'm no expert: I'm currently on day 30 of my first W30), reintroduction is intended to be highly tailored to your specific needs.

With respect to your question, "Can I just have the occasional non-whole food occasionally and be fine,"  you won't know the answer until you reintroduce.  If you want to test it in a benign environment (e.g., test having a slice of bread now vs. pizza out at a celebration and potentially getting ill), then do reintro.

For me, I'll be testing everything except gluten. I've been gluten-free for 6 years, already know how I feel if I accidentally eat it (let's just say it's not pretty), so it's pointless for me to reintro that food group.

My two cents ...

I finished up my 3rd Whole30 to weeks ago, and have maintained the template and compliant foods for all meals. I made three exceptions during this time- for 2 birthdays and a date out- and for those events only enjoyed one non-compliant item. Planned, and worth it all 3 times.The key for me is analyzing and plannng for the times I want to indulge in something non compliant. So many things are not worth straying for-and I have no desire for them at all.

I think the occasional planned treats are the way to go, while maintaining this healthy template and compliance the rest of the time.