what I did over summer vacation: a teacher's 1st w30

conniedraws

My first Whole30 is my summer project. I've been researching and planning for months. I'm a high school art teacher with a skeptical husband (mostly re: food prices) and a spunky 22 month old baby girl.

Day: 0

Today (Sunday June 30) I did my first Cook-up day.

• Cooked up protein
  • chopped up veg
  • made meat-spinach muffins from Well Fed
  • bagged snacks of veg and olives

Reflection: I feel mostly prepared. DIdn't go crazy with forbidden foods. I think I'll miss tortilla chips most? And sugar added into things. And my brown rice, black beans, and corn in my Chipoltle.  It's embarrasing to admit that my Cook up took 5 hours today... I can be slow when recipes are new...or when I don't thaw the spinach enough beforehand...noted.

Welcome!  Looks like you have a god set up for a great start.  No worries about the cooking time.  My first week it took me a while to process everything and get prepped.  As the weeks went by I got a good hang of how to handle it.  I found if I had a pan for veggies and a pan for meats I could just bang out a bunch of stuff simply wiping the pan in between.  I lined up my storage containers and made sure I had a shelf cleared  in the fridge before I started.  Good luck and keep us posted!

Day: 1

M1: 2 muffins=ground turkey, spinach, egg. 1/2 avocado

M2: salad w turkey rolled & cumin-lime dressing (made from homemade mayo), black olives

Snack: mini bell peppers, carrot, green olives

M3: beef n broccoli hot plate w yellow bell pepper, whole avocado

Reflection:

- loved the cumin lime dressing.

- this salad wasn't filling enough. Need more protein and fat probably. Need to add protein to my snack, too.

- beef n broccoli was nice and spicy, husband approved! But the Chinese 5 spice has cloves in it, which gives me headaches.