The Whole 30 Perspective on...fasting?

luckyclover

I realize that this isn't a can I have topic, but thought this might be an appropriate spot. Wanted to know what the Whole 30 stand on IF is. For context, I typically fast 1 day per week, and this is usually 18-24 hours. Once I went until the following day, and actually went for a run in the morning (still fasted) with no ill effects (granted, I won't lie, I was hungry, but not HUNGRY). I have been eating paleo-ish for about 2 years. This is my 2nd Whole 30 (my first was technically a Whole 27) and I've found that the process it helps me re-set from the slippage. I really enjoy the re-set of a fasting day as well, and during that day (it is typically a day I travel for work) it's so very nice to not have to worry about food. I find I'm also very alert, don't get tired or sluggish, and feel energized all day. So I'm interested in the official Whole 30 view on fasting. Thanks!

just posted a blurb related to this within the context of another post; i'll paste it below:

...oh, one thing i should perhaps note so far as following the whole30 guidelines during and after jan: very early on, i started deviating from the whole30 meal schedule plan. typically (then and now), i eat two meals--brunch & dinner--with no snacks. for "breakfast" and sometimes again in the late afternoon, i have coffee/tea with 1tsp of MCT oil and 2Tbs coconut milk. i usually work out (CF or bikram) fasted except for that version of "bulletproof coffee". i've found this arrangement ideal for my lifestyle/workouts and for keeping me totally sated but out of "weight-gaining mode"....

(basically a form of modified IF, with a modified version of "bulletproof coffee"--for me at least, supports mental clarity, emotional well-being, & physical performance while also preventing weight gain)