My Whole30 results!

candlesnfire

Hi! My name is Amanda, and this is my first time posting but I've been lurking in the forums all month lol! I wanted to report my results on my first Whole30. This is long, so get comfortable. :)

A little background about me first. I am 37 years old. Back in 2007, I weighed over 450 pounds. I was miserable, and I didn't think I'd ever be able to escape that hell.  I did a stint of being vegan for about 3 years, during which I always secretly binged on meat.  In 2010, I went vegetarian, then finally, just allowed myself everything (trying the whole moderation thing).  Through those six years, I lost over 220 pounds, and also began running. Unfortunately, my deep dark secret is that I've always struggled with binge eating, and last December, it got really bad.  I also suffer from seasonal depression and decided to try anti-depressants..and also gained 40 pounds back.  I continued to binge, and my runs turned into walks. It wasn't a good time.

I had read about the Paleo diet in the past and just never thought it would be a fit.  I did stints of low carb out of desperation years ago...only to gain more weight back than I'd lost. I got tired of looking for a quick fix, I wanted something that was sustainable! Unfortunately, moderation in all things just doesn't work for me.