Whole30 and 13.1 miles

LoriLifts

Thanks for the kind words Colleen!

I've been doing half marathons and beyond for about 15 years. I was your typical carb loading marathoner. My favorite meal after a training run was 2 bagels with peanut butter and honey! I've done 49 marathons and a handful of ultras and was still chubby (OK,, overweight. By about 25 lbs). 

To make things worse, I was a vegetarian for about 25 years. I never met a plate of pasta that didn't go in my stomach. The centerpiece of my diet was carbs. I'm not talking about vegetables and fruit. I mean pizza, pasta, bread and lots of desserts.

I attempted a Whole30 2 years ago but didn't even last one day. Several more trys were unsuccessful. 

Meanwhile, I was still doing long distance races fueled with sugary energy gels and drinks. And lots of bagels.

I started to research alternative ways to eat. On Mark Sisson's site, I read about becoming fat adapted instead of being a sugar burner. I read the success stories on this forum.I learned about insulin and the effect it has on blood glucose. I started to check my blood with a glucose meter. When I saw how my glucose rose after eating a carb heavy meal, I decided it was time for a change...

In 2012, after 25 years,I became a carnivore again.My first meat meal was a local raised lamb burger and I loved it!

On Memorial Day 2012, I gave up all grains.

On July 4th,2012 I gave up refined sugar.

I learned to not fear fat. I embraced it!

Fast forward to today. 

I'm now fat adapted instead of burning sugar for energy. I can do half marathons in a fasted state without bonking. My energy levels are stable all day, no afternoon slump. It took about a year but my sugar cravings are gone. I can walk into a Starbucks and not even look at the pastry case. This still amazes me.

The last piece of the puzzle is to complete a Whole30. 

It's taken me 2 years of preparation but I'm now ready to get this done!