Muscle Fatigue

Hi everyone,

My wife and I have been doing the Whole30 for 7 days now. We feel great (mostly, read on) and I have noticed a huge difference in the way my clothes feel.

I am having a problem with muscle fatigue. My arms burn and feel very, very weak. Is this normal? I think maybe I am not eating enough or not eating the right things. There have been a couple of days where we have only eaten two meals because of our schedule.

Any suggestions would be great! I want to continue this healthy lifestyle.

Steve

Hi Steve,

I'm no expert and couldn't tell you about the burning sensation you are feeling. I can tell you that two meals a day is not enough (which I'm sure you already know). I have a very busy lifestyle too and with this plan I find that planning ahead is crucial. This week I have cooked up a storm twice in preparation for the rest of the week. I live on breakfast casseroles and put separate portions in some tupperware to take with me to work. I also make bulk things like a stir-fry type meal so my other half and I have lunches already prepared to go! That way we don't have to skip out on meals and have something ready to go.

This could be under eating. I can really only guess but from your blog, it looks like some of your meals have been on the small side or not enough fat. I've found it very helpful to be sure to do that breakfast within the recommended one hour after waking, and to make it BIG. Really kills the cravings. Preparing meals ahead helps. Not letting yourself get hungry is key to success.

I strongly suspect you have the "low carb flu". Anybody doing a W30 who wasn't already eating somewhat like this is going to wind up reducing carbs when they cut out the garbage. It helps a lot to make sure you are eating enough fat, eating good large meals, and to salt your food. When you cut out all the processed, prepared foods, you eliminate a lot of salt from your diet, and at lower carb levels you need more.