Triathlon Teacher's First Whole30+

sheba-kitty

I have been logging in my fitbit journal...but found these forums and thought the extra accountability might be good!

First who I am and why I am doing this...

46 year old middle school art teacher. (Love it, yes I am crazy!) I am an artist and dog mommy! I love to garden and READ!

I have been doing triathalon since 2009. You can read about that journey here http://shebaduhkitty.sweat365.com/ Inspired by my younger brother who lost and kept off 80 lbs and is now an ironman and a Whole30 and paleo person.

In 2011, my husband and I embarked on one of our dreams and opened a restaurant. We served gourmet burgers made from organic game meats, (elk, llama, venison, emu, bison, kangaroo, and more!) it was well recieved, but not enough money to keep it afloat, after a year and a half we closed our doors in December 2012. We had a period of NOT WANTING TO COOK ANYTHING! having had to cook for others for so long... And so we ate fast food crap, sat around moping and packed on the pounds.

I have been overweight now since I hit my 30's mostly avoiding my family obesity issue until then... But now I am at my highest ever... Narrowly hitting the 200 mark at only 5'1'.

My brother and his wife and a few other friends decided to start a Whole30 on August 1st. They mentioned it to me ON the first... Wasn't really mentally ready to go full program so I started by elimintating some things on the same day to move forward.

I had been reading “It Starts with Food†and baby-stepping into the Whole30 since August 1st… but finally finishing the book I see why I need to do the full program. I have already been feeling some positive results. Most noticeably my sugar cravings are down and I am down 4 pounds.

So August 11 I started the full whole30.