860 calories for a meal-scared

I'm totally going to get yelled at for this post, but hey, i AM a newbie right?!  I'm using an online food diary to just keep track of what I eat during my W30.  My Meal 2 was 860 calories and consisted of:

about 8 oz. boneless skinless chicken breast

1 T coconut oil

1/2 c (maybe more) of mashed cauliflower

6 green olives pitted

1 small green apple

2 (ish) T raw almond butter

I have a surprise party later on and plan to eat before it (and after crossfit) so I figured it was best to have a big meal. 

Does this seem like too much? 

Sara

Ooooo too much oil and too much protein.

And...too big of a meal.

If you go by the guide, pick only one out of these three on your list - Coconut oil, Olive or Almond Butter.(1T instead of Two)

and keep your protein to the size of your palm. About 4oz.

Short answer - nope.

Long answer - noooooooooooope ;)

You can adjust your calories (roughly) up and down depending how you feel - remember they average out over the course of a day, a week, a month. If you're not hungry for M3, maybe have a little less for your next M2; and vice versa.

we don't count calories during the whole30. let me say that again: WE DON'T COUNT CALORIES DURING A WHOLE30!

How do you know if you ate enough?: 1. it fits the meal template of 1-2 palm-size portions of protein, a thumb of fat, a large portion ("the rest of your plate") of veggies. 2. You have energy and are not hungry until time for the next meal.

Counting calories isn't particularly productive because each individual needs differing amounts of calories each day depending on many complex factors (size, activity level, stress, metabolism, hormones, etc.), and, unfortunately we have been taught that calories are "bad" so people try to restrict them to the smallest number possible. This is nonsense.