Total Noob Starting 08/20/13

leachaa

Hi all!  I am a divorce mom of two school age children and I am almost 300lbs.  We eat clean most of the time but I am a binge eater and I bring my kids along for the ride.  I got some tough love from my best friend the other day and she told me I am slowly killing myself the way I am eating and she is right.   

So here I am.   I am excited and worried at the same time.   I know how I respond with food and stress and that is going to be hard.  Plus the kids and I live with my parents and when my mom cooks she fries everything with a side of white potatoes.   I actually said no to her cooking tonight and was able to cook my own meal on the side.  Now I just need to make sure that I am the one that does all the cooking.  

Wish me luck!  

Thanks!  

Hi leachaa!

I think this is a great program to deal with binge eating (and thinking).  If you browse through the posts you'll see a few things:

• eating this way keeps you from becoming 'physically' hungry so when you want to binge you realize it's for other reasons BEFORE you see the bottom of the ice cream container.
  • while you will have weird food dreams and cravings - you will also oddly lose interest in food for a while.  I think this has been a revelation for me.  Because I love food, I still manage to eat the meals (which you must) - but it's almost a chore on certain days.  That concept is rocking my world.  Unless I am physically sick, sugary carbs ALWAYS look good to me.  Until now.