The Whole Enchilada

Anita

Being that I've eaten fairly restricted for many years, and this is just next level pared down, I'm missing a few things. I'm also a Southern California resident. I'm surrounded by fabulous Mexican cuisine. It's plentiful, cheap, and good. But I don't eat it. I want it. I want a cheesy enchilada and some beans and rice. But I realize it's a no-go for my body.

Do any of you have any satisfying Mexican recipes that are Whole30 compliant? I searched the recipe forum and didn't see much. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I suppose it could be one of those foods I go off-road for on a rare occasion, but I am really afraid of the consequences since there is so much "bad" in Mexican food (cheese, rice, beans, corn, etc.). 

Any ideas are welcomed.  Thanks!

I've been searching for ways to replicate Chipotle recipes at home and found this one for their pork carnitas http://www.justapinch.com/recipes/main-course/pork/chipotles-carnitas-pulled-pork.html I made it and after the pork was cooked, I strained the juice and mixed it back in, but it made the meat a little bitter, and I still wasn't getting the strong black pepper flavor that I love in chipotle's, so next time I'm going to decrease the amount of juniper berries (I used 2 tbs), add whole peppercorns, more salt (probably 1/4-1/2 tsp salt per pound of meat) and more ground pepper at the end and only mix in enough juice after it's shredded to make the meat salty enough.

I also have this recipe for barbacoa. It's almost unbearably spicy (to me, I'm a bit of a wimp though) if you use 4 chipotle peppers. Next time I will use 1 or 2. http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2012/04/tender-beef-barbacoa-chipotle-tacos-recipe.html

Then I also kind of made up a recipe for their green tomatillo salsa based on their ingredients statement.

1 roma tomato

3-4 tomatillos

1/2 jalapeno

1/2 tsp. ground cumin

1/4 red onion

salt and pepper to taste

juice of half a lime

pinch granulated garlic